The Booker Prize reveals its 2020 winner Thursday evening

(London) The Booker Prize jury reveals Thursday evening the 2020 winner of the prestigious British literary prize, which has already recognized authors such as Kazuo Ishiguro or Margaret Atwood, during a ceremony broadcast on the BBC.

Among the six books selected for this year’s final are four first-time novelists – Americans Diane Cook, Avni Doshi and Brandon Taylor, and Scotsman Douglas Stuart – whose early works explore themes ranging from climate change, to racism in passing. through family ties.

The New Wilderness by Diane Cook is a dystopian fiction set in a city made inhospitable by the climate crisis. The American is currently developing a screenplay based on this novel which Warner Bros. has bought the rights to adapt in series.

As in The New Wilderness, Burnt sugar by American Avni Doshi explores the complex relationship between a mother and her daughter, but this time in contemporary India. “As the title suggests, this is a novel that often leaves a bitter taste in your mouth,” described one of the judges, Sameer Rahim, hailing “a fascinating, beautifully written book” and “heartbreaking. “.

In Real Life From the American Brandon Taylor, we follow Wallace, a young introverted man confronted with racism during his first steps on an American campus, a thousand leagues from his childhood in Alabama.

Shuggie Bath by Douglas Stuart is played in a working-class family in Glasgow struggling with alcoholism and poverty in the 1980s. The author himself grew up in the Scottish city before moving to New York to work in fashion.

Camilla and Obama

Two other authors who are not at their first attempt are also in the selection. Zimbabwean writer Tsitsi Dangarembga is among the finalists with This Mournable Body, the third volume in a trilogy started with Nervous Conditions (On edge in the French version), on the journey of a young girl from Zimbabwe sinking into poverty.

The first Ethiopian author to appear in the Booker Prize final, Maaza Mengiste was inspired by her family history to write The shadow king which describes the uprising of ordinary citizens against the Italian invasion of Ethiopia in the 1930s. A story “rarely told before, wrapped in magnificent lyrical prose,” hailed one of the judges, writer Lee Child.

These six finalists were selected after reading 162 novels published in the UK or Ireland between 1er October 2019 and September 30, 2020.

The name of the winner will be revealed by BBC journalist John Wilson and the winner will then be invited to join the ceremony live. As a result, a reward of 50,000 pounds (approximately $ 87,000) and the assurance of international renown.

Starting at 2 p.m. (Montreal time), the ceremony will feature interviews with selected jurors, former winners and celebrities. Kazuo Ishiguro and Margaret Atwood are expected, among others, as well as the Duchess of Cornwall Camilla, wife of Prince Charles, who will address in video the importance of reading during the coronavirus pandemic, and former US President Barack Obama, who will talk about his readings of the selected works.

In addition to Kazuo Ishiguro and Margaret Atwood, already distinguished novelists include renowned authors such as Hilary Mantel, Salman Rushdie and Julian Barnes.

Check Also

Christmas Koriass

Quebec rapper Koriass has a surprise in store for his fans for the holiday season …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *