Alouettes well represented on CFL Decade teams

Between 2010 and 2019, 824 games were played in the Canadian Football League, both in the regular season and in the playoffs. The very first was the most striking.

The Montreal Alouettes probably don’t have fond memories of it, as they suffered a heartbreaking 54-51 loss to the Saskatchewan Roughriders in overtime, raising the curtain for the 2010 season. 1er July.

But to fans who took a poll, it seems different: They selected him as the best game of that ten-year CFL.

They preferred it to the spectacular 104e Gray Cup final between the Calgary Stampeders and the Ottawa Rouge et Noir, won by Ottawa 39-33, also in overtime, on November 27, 2016 in Toronto.

According to a CFL press release, with 105 points scored, the Alouettes-Roughriders duel ranks third in league history during the regular season in this regard, and the top for an opening game of a season.

The two teams had joined forces to register a total of 13 touchdowns, including nine by air. Quarterback Darian Durant had amassed 481 passing yards, 95 more than Anthony Calvillo, for the Alouettes.

They had let slip a lead of 33-12 in 3e quarter.

Thirteen Alouettes players selected

In addition, CFL fans, members of the media and a selection committee also identified 28 players and a head coach on each of the two All-Star Teams of the Decade.

Of the number, 13 former Alouettes players have been selected, including eight in the first all-star team. They are receivers S. J. Green, Adarius Bowman and Nic Lewis, tackle Jovan Olafioye, guard Ryan Bomben, defensive end John Bowman, linebacker Chip Cox and defensive back Jovon Johnson.

The second team has five former Alouettes colors: receiver Fred Stamps, center Luc Brodeur-Jourdain, guard Scott Flory, linebacker Hénoc Muamba and defensive back Ed Gainey.

Quarterback Bo Levi Mitchell, who has spent his entire career with the Calgary Stampeders, was selected to the First Team All-Star. He was preferred over Ricky Ray, who played with Edmonton and the Toronto Argonauts.

“I thank everyone who took the time to vote, I am honored,” Mitchell said in a statement.

“To be the quarterback for the first all-star team is really something special and I hope I can be part of the debate when we discuss the team for the next decade. ”

John Hufnagel and Dave Dickinson, who both led the Stampeders, were the public’s choices as head coaches of the 1re and 2e all-star team, respectively.

Check Also

Domestic violence: Andy Murray wants ATP to do more

Tennis player Andy Murray has called for the ATP to take domestic violence cases, like …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *