Montreal Arts Council | MUTEK, winner of the Grand Prix

MUTEK, an organization dedicated to the exploration and promotion of digital creativity and electronic music, is the grand winner of the Grand Prix du Conseil des Arts de Montréal (CAM), for the 2019 edition of its festival of the same name . The jury highlighted the exceptional quality of the most recent edition of MUTEK and “its rich and diverse programming”.

The founder and director of MUTEK, Alain Mongeau, received this recognition during a gala held Thursday noon, at the PHI Center, and broadcast in virtual format. An event marked by the solidarity and resilience of Montreal’s cultural community in times of COVID-19.

Very surprised and moved, Alain Mongeau dedicated his prize to the artists and the public of the MUTEK festival, which is held once a year in Montreal. He also thanked the public bodies, including the CAM, for their support in maintaining the cultural ecosystem of the metropolis during the pandemic.

The Segal Center also awarded

The Jury Prize went to the Segal Center for the Performing Arts. For its “inclusive approach and its expertise in musical theater in its programming dealing with social issues of all kinds”, in particular for the presentation last year of the musical Children of God, on the history of residential schools in Canada. “The jury fell in love with the work of supporting audiences at the Segal Center around the production and distribution of Children of God.

The other seven finalists this year were Alchimies, Creations and Cultures; Communication-Youth; the Ebnflōh dance company; La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines in duet with TOHU, city of circus arts for the first edition of Autre cirque; MAI (Montreal, intercultural arts); MOMENTA, Image Biennale; and Toxic Sidewalk.

Chaired by Jan-Fryderyk Pleszczynski, the jury of 35e Grand Prix brought together Élizabeth-Ann Doyle, co-founder, general and artistic director of MU; Déborah Cherenfant, president of the Young Chamber of Commerce of Montreal; Nichole Anderson Bergeron, Former President and CEO, Business for the Art; Thi Be Nguyen, Director of the Office of the President and Major Gifts, National Bank of Canada.

The winners of the CAM Grand Prix since 1985

2018: MU

2017: Metropolitan orchestra

2016: Public Case

2015: The 7 fingers and the Montreal Museum of Contemporary Art

2014: Lemieux Pilon 4D Art

2013: Louise Lecavalier – Glorious Madman

2012: Festival TransAmériques (FTA)

2011: Festival of new cinema

2010: Cirque Éloize

2009: Elektra and MUTEK

2008: Montreal Symphony Orchestra

2007: Tangent

2006: Marie Chouinard Company

2005: Bouches Décousues Theater

2004: Espace Go

2003: La La La Human Steps

2002: Contemporary Ensemble of Montreal

2001: Parallel Cinema

2000: International Festival of Films on Art

1999: Jean-Pierre Perreault Foundation

1998: Chamber orchestra I Musici de Montréal

1997: Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montreal

1996: Montreal Museum of Fine Arts

1995: International Festival of New Dance

1994: Carbon 14

1993: Montreal Museum of Contemporary Art

1992: O Vertigo Danse

1991: Contemporary Music Society of Quebec

1990 : Life of the Arts

1989: Canadian Center for Architecture

1988: New World Theater, Women’s Experimental Theater and Omnibus

1987: Cirque du Soleil

1986: Louis Lortie, pianist

1985: Wireless Theater

Check Also

Elise Gravel illustrates American stamps

This is even more surprising than a potato on a bicycle: Elise Gravel illustrates four …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *